Home

FNM050111_060If you’ve read my salad tales, you’re already know that I’m a big salad lover. Just in case you’d like to catch up, you can do so here: “Simple Salad,” “The story of the salad that was,” and “Romaine and Kale Salad II.” In the interest of full disclosure, I readily admit that part of my love of salad rests on my love of salad dressing.

I used to love a good bottled dressing, but these days I’m challenged to describe any bottled dressing as truly good. Yes, some of those babies are uber-flavorful, and quite a few are aimed at being healthful, but I’m inevitably challenged by the ingredients, the salt content, or some combination of the two. At some point I took on the challenge of creating my own dressing(s) and this recipe is one of many I use. Without further ado, recipe numero quindici:

LIME APPLE SALAD DRESSING

Ingredients: 1/2 lime, 1-2 teaspoons apple cider vinegar, ~1 tablespoon olive oil, 1 teaspoon onion powder, ~1/8-1/4 teaspoon sea salt (optional: cayenne pepper)

Preparation: Add the juice from the lime, apple cider vinegar, then olive oil to a low-ball glass (or your preferred salad dressing mixing glass/container). Add onion powder and sea salt. Stir rapidly with a fork and pour over salad. (tip: use the glass and fork to thoroughly mix the dressing into the salad.) [will dress one medium/large salad]

For added spice, add the optional dash of cayenne to the dressing before stirring. Enjoy! ;)

Leave a Reply

