Home

lemonThe juiciest part of salad is the salad dressing–both in the consistency and the yum senses. Simply put, I love salads, in part, because I love salad dressings! 😀

I also thrive on kitchen-based improvisation. No, I’m not entertaining with sketch comedy (well, not really), but I am entertaining with “on the fly” creation. I rarely measure ingredients, seldom follow recipes, and usually create dishes based on a combination of what I’m hungry for and what I have on hand. It’s not an exacting process (and I do–most often–keep quite a few fresh and dried ingredients on hand), but it gives rise to many creative and tasty meals!

My salad dressings are probably less spontaneous than I imagine, as they inevitably involve vinegar (or some citrus) for “punch” and extra virgin olive oil for “cling,” but I simply pour from bottles, squeeze from citrus juicers, and sprinkle freehand from spice jars. All in all: Good times / I hope for the best. This particular dressing topped a Romaine Salad with Salmon.

Jibber-jabber aside, here’s recipe numero diciassette:

LEMON APPLE SALAD DRESSING

Ingredients: 1/2 lemon, ~2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar (I use Bragg’s), ~1 tablespoon (extra virgin) olive oil, ~1 teaspoon onion powder, and ~1/8-1/4 lemon pepper (sea) salt [optional: cayenne pepper]

Preparation: Add all ingredients to a low-ball glass (or preferred container). Stir vigorously with a fork. Taste and adjust as desired. Pour over salad and enjoy!

Optional: Add a dash (or two!) of cayenne pepper to kick up the spice/heat of the dressing.

Here are links to some of my others salads:

Romaine and Kale SaladThe Salad of Nine, Romaine and Kale Salad II

…and some of my other salad dressings:

Olive Oil/Balsamic Salad Dressing, Lime Apple Salad Dressing 

Leave a Reply

