Home

nova

I’ll admit that I like to oogle The Daily Post, but rarely find myself inspired by it. Today’s topic, however, does inspire my critical self. A quote from Alice in Wonderland is referenced in which the white queen states that she’s “believed in as many as six impossible things before breakfast.” The daily prompt goes on to ask “what are the six impossible things you believe in?” My initial response was something along the lines of “intellectual offense,” because I don’t agree with the pairing of the words impossible and belief.

Although I understand the definition of “impossible,” I don’t buy into what it implies. Intrinsic to impossibility is the idea of excuse, of limitation, and of lacking ability among others. When something is impossible, we don’t have to try. We don’t have to reach. We don’t have to question or expand our ability. After all, it’s impossible, right? Certainly this isn’t the only conception of “impossible,” but it very often is for a great many people. We are constantly surrounded and limited by impossibility, but we don’t have to buy in.

I also understand the definition of belief, but I refuse to pair it with impossibility because it’s most often belief that makes what is possible impossible. Intrinsic to the idea of belief is acceptance of what’s “real or true.” The problem is that these concepts are subjectively defined, regardless of objective definitions or reality. After all, it’s usually our perception of reality and truth that restricts our experience of both, whether or not we realize it. If we believe something isn’t real, then it isn’t. If we believe something to be untrue, then it is. Unfortunately, our subjective beliefs, which are often based upon subjective information, don’t always reflect objective reality or truth. Our worlds can be much larger and much less “impossible” when we realize and accept this fact.

With all of the above in mind, I choose to selectively disregard impossibility. This isn’t to say that I’ll be jumping an incredibly wide canyon anytime soon, attempting a superman-like flight to the moon, or personally orchestrating world peace–I do have common sense and I did say selective. What I don’t want to be is common in my thinking or in my experience. I don’t want to limit my imaginative beliefs, my incredible flights of fancy, or my extraordinary conception of what I am capable of. I won’t believe in impossibility, but I will nonetheless respect its existence.

Now, I certainly am not throwing out the baby with the bathwater: I choose to believe in a great many things. Some of these things are possible and some are seemingly impossible. Not all of my beliefs bring me happiness, but many of them do and I won’t limit myself to “what’s possible” to live my life or to find my happiness. Goodness knows I already have an arsenal of excuses beyond “it’s impossible!” I also surely limit myself in ways I’m not even aware of. Further, I know that I don’t possess the ability to do or see or be everything. My bottom line is that I choose to only be limited by my imagination–not by words that aim to restrict possibility in my everyday life and world. I choose to try, to reach, to question and expand, and in my world of reality and make-believe nothing is impossible.

Leave a Reply

